Winter run timing and other questions

I'm new to steelhead, I fished for them this summer in various rivers and recently bought a spey rod. I fished last winter a bit with gear but no success. I have been having actual dreams about steelhead fishing and spey casting the last few weeks! I'm so ready to get after it!

Questions.. When can I expect fish to come in to the northern coastal rivers? Both forks of the Nehalem, Wilson, Trask, etc? I've heard Thanksgiving, how often does that hold up?

How long will the Deshutes be fishable for fall fish? I'm happy to make the drive to get my fix.

Not looking for spots, but in general on these coastal rivers, how do you find swing water that isn't crowded with gear guys? I suspect if it's been fished by a competent gear guy, my chances dwindle quickly. I'll have to fish from the bank, no boat access. Thinking back to last winter, the Wilson can get so damn crowded.

Last edited:

Rob Allen

Life of the Party
I'm new to steelhead, I fished for them this summer in various rivers and recently bought a spey rod. I fished last winter a bit with gear but no success. I have been having actual dreams about steelhead fishing and spey casting the last few weeks! I'm so ready to get after it!

Questions.. When can I expect fish to come in to the northern coastal rivers? Both forks of the Nehalem, Wilson, Trask, etc? I've heard Thanksgiving, how often does that hold up?

How long will the Deshutes be fishable for fall fish? I'm happy to make the drive to get my fix.

Not looking for spots, but I'm general on these coastal rivers, how do you find swing water that isn't crowded with gear guys? I suspect if it's been fished by a competent gear guy, my chances dwindle quickly. I'll have to fish from the bank, no boat access. Thinking back to last winter, the Wilson can get so damn crowded.

Fish the Deschutes till Christmas. Then leave summer fish alone.