Newb Sonar - Fish Finder Questions - The Fine Points; How to Make Best Use of It?

Brian Miller

Be vewy vewy quiet, I'm hunting Cutthwoat Twout
Forum Supporter
I been fly fishing for almost 50 years but haven't fished lakes much. I am brand new to fish finder-sonar and just bought a nice Garmin Striker 4 fish finder. My only frame of reference is USAF fighter interceptor weapons system radar that displayed target relative vertical & horizontal position, distance, and its direction of travel. That's probably working against me and I need try forgetting all that I ever knew about radar displays.
I know the Striker sends out and receives ultrasound waves in a cone to paint the bottom, shows the depth, structure, beeps and displays a fish icon when it thinks it's detected a fish with the depth...
I know that the "Edge" "A-Scope" display shows a realtime image of what's straight down in the sonar cone, the cone diameter... The narrow Edge A-Scope display is always saturated with bottom return data. Fish are displayed as changing colors (denoting target depth & distance) in the water column cone above the bottom saturation. When a fish "arch" or a fish icon displays beyond the Edge A-Scope display, it's old data and no longer below me. If I am moving I only know I passed over a fish, and the depth.
Can any fish finder experts out there help educate me on...
  1. If the fish is 5ft above the bottom with no structure nearby is it likely cruising for food?
  2. If the fish is moving, is there any way to tell what direction, how fast... ?
  3. Ultimately, how can I use the display to help me target the fish that just passed through the cone?
  4. If you see a fish painted near structure (including the bottom) how do you target a fish that was just painted on the display?
  5. If you are trolling or just underway, how do you target a fish that was just painted on the display?
Any videos you can recommend that will help replace my prior radar experience?