Sunny Day Strategy

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
With these bright, warm days my usual local lake has turned off to successful trout fishing. So after a couple hours of futility I've been headed over to the weed line to fish for the abundant bluegill and large mouth bass. It's a lot of fun and I'd like to learn a little more.
All I've been using is an intermediate line with a beadhead leech using countdown techniques. I'm seeking opinions for Bass..

My questions : does topwater techniques work very well on a hot, clear day? Are there better patterns for fishing deep than leeches.? Is it worthwhile to use weed guards?

Thanks for your help as I'm a total novice to bass 🎣 fishing...

Reactions: Zak

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter
On bright sunny days, consider tossing your topwaters into the shaded sides of cover where you can find it like docks, boats, trees etc.
I like to let the splashdown rings settle before I begin stripping, sometimes even waiting a minute or so. Those strategies have worked well for me in the past.
SF

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
On bright sunny days, consider tossing your topwaters into the shaded sides of cover where you can find it like docks, boats, trees etc.
I like to let the splashdown rings settle before I begin stripping, sometimes even waiting a minute or so. Those strategies have worked well for me in the past.
SF

I have the materials to tie gurglers. Would they be a reasonable choice.?

skyriver

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
Totally agree with SF and Squatchin. And after you do strip/pop, wait again. Wait until it's uncomfortable. They like to take their time.