Rod Building Single foot guides

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
Anyone know the equivalency between snake guides vs single foot guides? If I use 2,3,4 size snakes, what size single foot would replace them?

rickrosner

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
No difference between snakes and single foot guides. Between either of those two and guides with inserts you want to compare IDs (internal diameter) measurements as opposed to ODs (external). There are charts available on the web.

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
Thanks for the info. I am new to rodbuilding. I've built 3 so far. Thought I'd try single foots on the next one. Im not sure why premiere manufacturers use them on some, but not all of their models. There's quite the debate on the rodbuilders websites concerning the merits and drawbacks of them vs snake quides..

Msaville

Tackle Tart
Forum Supporter
I’m with Bagman. While it may not really be an issue I have always been suspect of single foot guides.

CRO

Steelhead
One advantage of single foot Fuji guides is their durability. It's hard to wear out those ceramic inserts compared to the steel wire of the snakes.

Bagman

Steelhead
One advantage of single foot Fuji guides is their durability. It's hard to wear out those ceramic inserts compared to the steel wire of the snakes.
Some of the newer snake guides are made out of I think Titanium (light weight and strong)

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter
Some of the newer snake guides are made out of I think Titanium (light weight and strong)
They use titanium guides in the higher end saltwater rods because of rust issues. The only problem with titanium or single foot guides with ceramic inserts, is their high cost. A titanium stripping guide with insert cost $12. Times that by 11 and a ceramic tip top and you are into it for $100 just for the guides. OK if your charging a $1000+ for a G Loomis. Not so good for a hobbyist...

Wetswinger

Go Deep
Forum Supporter