Non-Fly I need a spinning rod that'll do it all!

atomic dog

Steelhead
Well, not all, but a couple things at least.

My Dad likes to beach fish for surf perch around Westport and I'd like to get a spinning setup to join him. I would love it if this setup was versatile enough to use for more than that, though, if it's feasible. Specifically, I would like to be able to fish for steelhead and/or salmon here around the Tri-Cities. Not sure where, but probably Ringold, the Snake if I can find places, and tribs like the Walla Walla.

I have zero knowledge about either of these types of fishing, so I don't know if the gear is cross-compatible or not. My Dad says that he bottom fishes with 1.5-2oz weight from the beach, that's about all I know.

From the little reading I've done, it seems like something in the 9-10' range might be good. The couple videos I watched covering drifting bobbers for steelhead used ~8-12# rated rods. Plunking appears to require a whole lot more weight, so might not be a viable technique with this setup. An article about surf perch fishing said something in the 15-30# range.

Obviously, everything is going to be a compromise, but is there something that sort of overlaps these two requirements? I'm looking to to this somewhat inexpensively, as it isn't going to get used a ton. Maybe something on the level of an Okuma Celilo or similar would be the sweet spot. Looking at a spinning setup so that my wife and others not comfortable with a baitcaster could also use it.

Porter2

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter