Cast iron pizza

iveofione

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
There are hundreds of pizza videos out there covering every conceivable kind and flavor of pizza. Some are actually good and many others are just garbage time. Recently there has been a flurry of 'upside down' pizzas with advocates claiming they are the best ever. For now I am going to call bull shit on this one, it is hard enough to make a good pizza without doing it backwards.
I have been making pizza for over 50 years and occasionally get one right but still am no expert. I am however, better than I was last year so I am making some progress. When I left in November for my winter quarters I failed to bring my peel and my pizza steel thinking perhaps I could just use my favorite decades old cookie sheet. I didn't like the results so the next attempt was with a big cast iron skillet. It tasted good, all the flavors were there but it just wasn't good pizza. But I saw hope and assumed that some better oven management was on order to get the desired results.