Pink Year

Jake Watrous

Legend
Forum Supporter
It’s always amazing to me to see the same species being caught by folks in fresh and in salt on the same days and see the dramatic differences their bodies undergo so rapidly.

1694962632435.jpeg

speedbird

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
Hit the Snohomish but my God are they lockjawed. Fish checker told me people were struggling to catch them all weekend too. I didn't get to tangle up with pinks on the fly this year, considering sacrificing a beach day for a skagit trip

jeradjames

Steelhead
Hit the Snohomish but my God are they lockjawed. Fish checker told me people were struggling to catch them all weekend too. I didn't get to tangle up with pinks on the fly this year, considering sacrificing a beach day for a skagit trip
I haven't been to the Skagit but I did go to another "S" river this morning and most of the pinks are spawning and some are already rotting away on the banks. I'm new to fly fishing so it was still cool to see the tail end of the life cycle in person. It's amazing how they're essential immobile and people are still casting away hoping to take one home... I went to hit a tributary that is supposed to be good for sea run's but didn't have time unfortunately.

speedbird

Life of the Party
Forum Supporter
I haven't been to the Skagit but I did go to another "S" river this morning and most of the pinks are spawning and some are already rotting away on the banks. I'm new to fly fishing so it was still cool to see the tail end of the life cycle in person. It's amazing how they're essential immobile and people are still casting away hoping to take one home... I went to hit a tributary that is supposed to be good for sea run's but didn't have time unfortunately.
There’s still bright ones coming into some of the rivers, probably the rain pushing the last ones in

the_chemist

Steelhead
Forum Supporter