Seattle Area Trout Spots

pahnoor

Just Hatched
Hi. I'm pretty new to fly fishing. Trying to find a decent spot around Seattle to catch some trout. So far I've tried a few spots in the Middle Snoqualmie Fork and caught one small rainbow. Problem is, I feel like a lot of the places I find are too deep and wide and difficult to traverse.

Anybody know of any good spots? :)

dirty dog

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
I can't help ya with western WA.
This is what I know about finding new water to fish.
I moved from East Wenatchee, WA four years ago to Glide, OR.
I live less than one mile from the North Umpqua river, known for it's steelhead fishery.
The first season was a eye opener as far as catching.
The second year I caught more fish, fishing the same waters, and the next year also.
I learned what flies to use, where the fish were holding, etc.
This last season I fished some new to me water and caught more nice fish because I have learned what to use and where to fish in these waters of Southern OR.
OMJ's advice is true. Get a map, google map and explore.
It's not the catching that is the most important, it's being one with nature.
The catching will come.

Divad

Whitefish
If you start fishing the sound catalogue your outings in a journal, digital or hard copy. Beach, time of day, tide, weather, fly used etc. all will help you find consistency in the vast body of water. It along with lakes, tend to not blow out like rivers and creeks do this time of year which is a nice bonus.

Brian Miller

Be vewy vewy quiet, I'm hunting Cutthwoat Twout
Forum Supporter
Hi. I'm pretty new to fly fishing. Trying to find a decent spot around Seattle to catch some trout. So far I've tried a few spots in the Middle Snoqualmie Fork and caught one small rainbow. Problem is, I feel like a lot of the places I find are too deep and wide and difficult to traverse.