I hooked either a Salmon or Steelhead on my 5wt today...

Chinookie

Just Hatched
Preface, I'm new to fly fishing and this is my first post here! I was going for cutthroat in the N. Fork of the Nehalem today. I was trying to dead drift my fly along a seam and it would get sucked under the water due to current near the end of the drift. On one of the drifts, I realized I was hooked into something. It must have taken the fly subsurface at the end of the drift/swing. As soon as there was tension the fish leapt out of the water and broke the hook off the small fly I was using.

I'm bad at identifying fish since I'm new but it was silver with a red band down the sides. Steelhead or coho? It was awesome and I need a bigger rod now.

Bonus question: How far up rivers can I expect to find coastal cutthroat? I was starting to wonder if I was too far up the N. Fork.

Zak

Legend
Preface, I'm new to fly fishing and this is my first post here! I was going for cutthroat in the N. Fork of the Nehalem today. I was trying to dead drift my fly along a seam and it would get sucked under the water due to current near the end of the drift. On one of the drifts, I realized I was hooked into something. It must have taken the fly subsurface at the end of the drift/swing. As soon as there was tension the fish leapt out of the water and broke the hook off the small fly I was using.

I'm bad at identifying fish since I'm new but it was silver with a red band down the sides. Steelhead or coho? It was awesome and I need a bigger rod now.

Bonus question: How far up rivers can I expect to find coastal cutthroat? I was starting to wonder if I was too far up the N. Fork.
Nice first post, welcome aboard! Getting broken off by a huge fish is a pretty great way to start on your flyfishing lifelong adventure!

Divad

Whitefish