Weird things in the woods

Tom Butler

Grandpa, Small Stream Fanatic
Forum Supporter
As a land surveyor I spent a lot of time running lines in the mountains. It was not uncommon, after we would start a job, to start to find obstacles in the access roads. One day we got back to where we parked our 4 wheeler. It was nowhere to be found, but the key was in my pocket. Another time one of the neighboring land owners came crashing through the woods yelling about surveyors and shooting his gun in the air. That was fun.

Last edited:

Stonedfish

Known Grizzler-hater of triploids, humpies & ND
Forum Supporter
Not in the woods per se, but near Cle Elum on the Yakima river. I found a stretch that fished great, but it was a long hike to get there and required multiple river crossings. I noticed some houses next to the river on the other side. The next time I was over there fishing, I thought I'd ask for permission to fish their property. I drove down a gravel road to the last house. I parked and went up and knocked on the front door. I could see someone had come from the back of the house, but they were kneeling down low and walking behind a fence and some bushes, like they were hiding from me. I followed them with my eyes and a guy finally popped up and is now behind me, between me and my rig. He asked what I wanted and I explained I was hoping to fish his property. Usually you get a yes or no answer, but he said now wasn't a good time, could I come back some other time. He seemed super nervous and I thought his answer was a bit odd. About that time, two people ran out the front door and hopped into a vehicle and left the property at a high rate of speed. I'm not sure what activities I interrupted or who they thought I was, but something funky was going on there.
This property wasn't far from my Yakima bridge encounter with a tweaker who proclaimed "most fisherman are cool, but you're a dick. I'm going to fuck-up your fishing". :ROFLMAO:
SF

Last edited:

Northern