How fast can I troll?

Tobe Hagge

Just Hatched
I am fishing for bass out of a pedal kayak. I read that on the gear-fishing side, a number of lures are designed to work at 2-4 mph, but I'm not getting very many strikes at that speed. I have good luck, in the same waters and with several flies, trolling at around 1 mph. I'd like to get some exercise while I fish, and sometimes I need to get from point A to point B. Are there flies that offer a convincing presentation at 2-4 mph and what's required to make it convincing?

Josh

Dead in the water
Staff member
Admin
I'm no expert on trolling, but I'd always heard that 1-2mph is a good speed if you are specifically trying to troll. If you are trying to troll while getting from point A-B just in the hopes of running across something, you may have to either use heavier flies than normal or just accept the non-optimum presentation.

But as I said, I'm no expert on this. So let's see what some of the other more lake specific people have to say.

Ceviche

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
From my experience, when trolling somewhat fast, doing a strip and release presentation with your fly and line can draw strikes from trout. Bass? They’re too sedentary and localized to find when moving from one place to another.

Buzzy

I prefer to call them strike indicators.
Forum Supporter
Last fall @Old406Kid and I were fishing from his boat on large lake, we noticed another boat zipping around the lake almost as if they were running to a new location except they had lines out and were hooking fish. Eventually Dean kicked his boat up to over 3 mph (maybe 4? maybe 5?) and we started getting strikes while trolling at Mach4. I think this particular day was an exception to the rule? Maybe?