Fly Line Help Needed - Soooo many different ones it's making my head spin.

Aleforme

Steelhead
Forum Supporter
First off, a HUGE thank you to everyone that has been helping me with my casting (wind knots) and rod selection. It's been greatly appreciated and everyone here I have communicated with has been very nice and willing help. If I'm wearing out my welcome with all these questions, please let me know!

As I alluded to in my other thread, I ended up finding an older Sage DS2 9' 5wt. I'm more than likely going to put an Battenkill II Disc reel on the rod and likely use the rod for dries and maybe some dry droppers? Maybe standard indicator/nymph use as well.

I'm trying to decide on a proper line for the rod. Right now being a newbie, I have only used SA MPX Optix 6wt WF on my 6wt rod. It's been great but my Echo Boost Blue is a very fast rods so I know this might not be the best line for a "medium" action rod like the DS2. Or, maybe it would be fine?

I know very little about lines so I just want to make sure I'm using a line that will make the most of the DS2's action. The one I borrowed from a guide was his own personal rod that he rarely uses and one that he normally doesn't let clients use. Unfortunately, he did not remember what line was on the rod.

So, any suggestions on a nicely matched line to this Sage DS2 would be appreciated. Price isn't really a big concern but cheaper is always good. But, I want to use the right line so if it costs a little more, so be it.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Zak

Legend
Forum Supporter
I like "double taper" lines on medium action rods. You maybe lose some casting distance compared to a weight forward line but DT lines are great for delicate presentation of dry flies. Also, they are very cost effective. When the working half of the DT line gets trashed, just flip it around and presto, brand new line!

As to weight forward lines, I like the Wulff Triangle taper.

Merle

Roy’s cousin
Forum Supporter