Beckler river

sbonvallEt

Freshly Spawned
Forum Supporter
I am relatively new to fly fishing here on the west side and having done most of my fishing on the Yakima and it’s tributaries. Recently someone mentioned fishing the Beckler river. In my research including the WFF there were posts in 2018 suggesting that area was pretty sketchy as it pertains to “meth labs” and crime potential. It deflated my enthusiasm considerably. If anyone has fished that area in the last few years, I would love input not so much on places to fish but safety. Though I know not to leave belongings in view, dealing with repairs after a car break in is a pain having gone through it in the past. Thanks.
SB

Matt B

RAMONES
Forum Supporter
I am relatively new to fly fishing here on the west side and having done most of my fishing on the Yakima and it’s tributaries. Recently someone mentioned fishing the Beckler river. In my research including the WFF there were posts in 2018 suggesting that area was pretty sketchy as it pertains to “meth labs” and crime potential. It deflated my enthusiasm considerably. If anyone has fished that area in the last few years, I would love input not so much on places to fish but safety. Though I know not to leave belongings in view, dealing with repairs after a car break in is a pain having gone through it in the past. Thanks.
SB
It’s not the worst, not the best. There are no guarantees in life, but my sh*t hasn’t gotten stolen there yet. There are all kinds of blue lines out Hwy 2 and they all have fish.

JayB

Steelhead
Had an interesting encounter with an agitated man in a yellow-tracksuit that hopped out of the bushes near the end of the pull-out that I'd driven to the end of and listened to him rather emphatically explain that the fishing on the Beckler was terrible and I'd really, really, really, really, really, really be wasting my time trying to fish there. I thanked him for his time, wished him well, and left.

JACKspASS

Life of the Party