Alaska River Float (Goodnews) Tips and Suggestions

mtskibum16

Life of the Party
My trip is fast approaching. We are doing 7 days on the Goodnews River starting 8/27. I started a thread a while back asking about flies (link) and posts about lines etc and got some good suggestions from @Eastside @BN2FSH @SculpinSwinger @Matt B @O' Clarkii Stomias @Creatch’r among others I'm sure.

Well the gear and flies are pretty much all accounted for, but it dawned on me the other day I have spent no effort in learning about how to actually fish the rivers up there. I have lots of experience with trout fishing rivers in the lower 48 and beach fishing for coho in the PNW, but I have never fished for salmon in rivers or for trout in rivers with heavy salmon populations and it will be my first time fly fishing in AK.

Looking for a crash course on techniques, water to look for various species, etc. Being late August, it's primarily coho time. I believe it's a pink year so perhaps pinks to contend with too. Will the trout be holding and feeding in the same kind of water they do down here plus behind spawning salmon? Will salmon holding water be obvious (visible fish)?

On top of general fishing techniques, I would love any intel specific to the Goodnews and bonus points for late August/early September info.

Appreciate any feedback!

Matt B

RAMONES
Forum Supporter
I don’t know about the Goodnews, but in all my AK fishing, it’s pretty obvious where to fish for salmon, as they show themselves. Take your time and observe what’s happening and appreciate what a real functioning salmon ecosystem looks like and how it works. I don’t think you’ll have any trouble finding fish and picking out the different species, then adapting approaches to what’s happening. It’s fishing and you’re a fisherman. It’s gonna be great. Alaska is so rad.

Matt B

RAMONES
Forum Supporter